

## Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

#### NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)

Teri Leicher Business Commerce

James Coon Citizen-At-Large

Glenn Hong Commercial Shipping

Barbara (Makaʻala) Kaaumoana

Conservation

Judith Lemus

Myrick (Rick) Gaffney Fishing

Vacant Hawai'i County

Vacant Honolulu County

Nina Monasevitch Kana'i County

Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala *Lānaʻi Island* 

Robin Newbold Maui County

Walter Ritte Moloka'i Island

Matthew Kawaiola Sproat Native Hawaiian

Douglass Cole Ocean Recreation

Mark Deakos

Kelsey Poole

Tara Leota Whale Watching

GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)

Jeff Walters NOAA Fisheries PIRO

Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)

Tunis McElwain US Army Corps of Engineers

Eric Roberts US Coast Guard

Janice Fukawa US Navy

## **MEETING AGENDA**

71st Meeting June 29, 2016 9:00 am - 3:30 pm NOAA Inouye Regional Center, Honolulu Ko'olau Haka Conference Room, Room #1564

To join the meeting remotely from your computer, tablet or smartphone use https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/488796693 and use the following conference line for audio: 1-877-939-9254 passcode 362828#.

#### **Purpose:**

10:30 am

The Sanctuary Advisory Council will discuss and receive updates on sanctuary activities and review and discuss the draft council charter.

### Agenda

GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)	9:00 am	Welcome and Introductions	
Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning	9.00 am	welcome and introductions	
Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy			
Suzanne Case DLNR	9:15 am	<b>Council Business</b>	
Bruce Anderson Division of Aquatic Resources			
Laura McIntyre DOH	9:45 am	Superintendent's Report	
Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors	), no um		
Keola Lindsey OHA (Voting)			
Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa	10:00 am	Climate Summit Report	
Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS			
Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM	10:15 am	State of Hawai'i Report	
Jeffrey Pollack NOAA OLE			

10:45 am **Charter Working Group Recommendations** 

**Break** 

12:00 pm **LUNCH** 



Sandra Rossetter DOT – Harbors Keola Lindsey OHA (Voting)

Gene Brighouse NMS of American Samoa

Malia Chow Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale NMS Athline Clark Papahānaumokuākea MNM

Tunis McElwain US Army Corps of Engineers

Jeffrey Pollack NOAA OLE Jeff Walters NOAA Fisheries PIRO Eric Kingma WESPAC (Voting)

Eric Roberts US Coast Guard Janice Fukawa US Navy

# Hawaiian Islands Humpback Whale National Marine Sanctuary Advisory Council

NON-GOVERNMENT (Voting)	12:45 pm	Papahānaumokuākea MNM Update
Teri Leicher Business Commerce	•	•
James Coon Citizen-At-Large		
Glenn Hong Commercial Shipping	1:00 pm	2015-2016 Humpback Whale Season Report
Barbara (Makaʻala) Kaaumoana Conservation		
Judith Lemus Education	1:15 pm	Enforcement Update
Myrick (Rick) Gaffney Fishing	-	-
Vacant <i>Hawai'i County</i>	1.20	
Vacant <i>Honolulu County</i>	1:30 pm	Update on Proposed Humpback Whale Delisting and Proposal for Spinner Dolphin Regulations
Nina Monasevitch Kaua'i County		Tot Spinner Bolphin Regulations
Solomon Pili Kahoʻohalahala <i>Lānaʻi Island</i>		
Robin Newbold Maui County	1:45 pm	Council Discussion Period
Walter Ritte Moloka'i Island		
Matthew Kawaiola Sproat Native Hawaiian	2:00 pm	Break
Douglass Cole Ocean Recreation	•	
Mark Deakos Research		
Kelsey Poole Tourism	2:15 pm	Public Comment Period
Tara Leota Whale Watching		
GOVERNMENT (Non-Voting)	2:45 pm	Next Steps
Leo Asuncion DBEDT – Office of Planning		
Veronica Rocha DBEDT Renewable Energy	3:00 pm	Subcommittee Meetings
Suzanne Case DLNR	3.00 pm	Subcommittee Meetings
Bruce Anderson Division of Aquatic Resources		
Laura McIntyre <i>DOH</i>	3:30 pm	Pau

This agenda is for planning purposes only and is subject to change.